BASIC Bank gets four new directors

The government has appointed four new directors to the state-owned BASIC Bank Board of Directors for the next three years.

The four new directors are Hasan Mahmud, FCA, Rayhana Anisa Yusuf Ali, former MD of Bangladesh House Building Finance Corporation, Mamun Al-Rashid, Joint Secretary of Bank and Financial Institution Division and Dr Mujib Ahmed, Professor of Accounting and Information System Department of Dhaka University, reports UNB.

logo-basic-bankThe Banking and Financial Institutions Division of the Finance Ministry on Monday issued a gazette notification appointing them as directors of the bank.

The appointment came a day after the BASIC Bank got Alauddin A Majid as its new chairman.

Earlier on Saturday, Sheikh Abdul Hye Bachchu resigned from the post of BASIC Bank Chairman amid severe criticisms following the allegations of financial irregularities involving Tk 4,500 crore in the state-owned bank.

Bangladesh Bank investigations found massive financial irregularities involving around Tk 4,500 crore in its three branches during 2009-2013.