Latifur elected Executive Board Member of Global ICC

Latifur Rahman, Vice-President of the International Chamber of Commerce-Bangladesh & Chairman and CEO of Transcom Group has been elected member of the Executive Board of the Paris-based ICC for a three-year term starting from July 2014.

ICC, The world business organization during its 202nd Council held in Geneva on June 27 unanimously elected Latifur Rahman and five others as Executive Board Members.

Latifur RahmanMr. Latifur Rahman has served in many important national bodies in various capacities including President of Metropolitan Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Dhaka (MCCI) for several terms; President of Bangladesh Employers’ Federation (BEF) for two terms and Member of Executive Committee of Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce & Industry (FBBCI), Bangladesh Jute Mills Association and Bangladesh Tea Association. He was Member of the Executive Board of Bangladesh Bank. He has been closely involved with fiscal and trade policy making bodies of the Government as Chairman, Tradebody Reforms Committee, Advisory Committee on WTO, National Committee on Export Promotion and Consultative Committee on Jute.

In 2012 Mr. Rahman was awarded “Oslo Business for Peace Award ” by the Business for Peace Foundation, Oslo and Business Executive of the Year 2001 by the American Chamber of Commerce in Bangladesh.

Mr. Latifur Rahman is also the Chairman of Nestlé Bangladesh, Holcim Cement Bangladesh (world leader in cement) and National Housing Finance & Investments. Director, Linde Bangladesh (formerly British Oxygen) and Member, Governing Body of BRAC.

Transcom Group originated with tea plantations in 1885, is now one of the largest conglomerate in Bangladesh, comprising 16 private & public companies employing over 10,000 people. The Group comprises of pharmaceuticals, electronics, media, foods, beverages and consumer products.

The other new Members elected by ICC, Paris are: Maria Fernanda Garza, Chair and CEO of Orestia and Chair of ICC Mexico; Dennis M. Nally, Chairman of PricewaterhouseCoopers International; Yongmaan (YM) Park, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Doosan Group, Republic of Korea; Kasemsit Pathomsak, President and Chief Executive of Merchant Partners Securities and Chair of ICC Thailand and Thomas Wellauer, Chief Operating Officer of Swiss Re and Chair of ICC Switzerland.