Tigers complete clean sweep in ODI series, too

Riding on debutant left arm orthodox bowler Taijul Islam’s four-wicket haul, including a hat-trick, Bangladesh beat Zimbabwe by five wickets in the final match at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on Monday to clean sweep the Bashundhara Cement ODI Series 5-0.

tiger_winChasing an easy target of 129 runs, the Tigers scored 130 runs for five in 24.3 overs.

With this, the Tigers whitewashed Zimbabwe for the second time in a five-match series. Earlier, Bangladesh won the five match series 5-0 against the visiting side on the home soil in 2006.

Mahmudullah scored not out 51 runs off 55 deliveries with 10 fours while Soumya Sarker made 20 runs from 18 balls featuring four fours in the final match.

Tendai Chatara grabbed three wickets for 44 runs in his 10 overs quota while Tinasha Panyangara took the other two wickets for 49 runs also bowling 10 overs.

Earlier, Taijul Islam’s record-making hat-trick and all rounder Shakib Al Hasan’s three wickets hauls enabled Bangladesh to restrict Zimbabwe at 128 runs in their last match of the five-match Bashundhara Cement ODI series at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

Batting first after winning the toss, the visiting side were all out in 30 overs.

The visitors faced early jolt losing the opening batsman Sikandar Raza (9) who was caught by Test skipper Mushfiqur Rahim off an ODI skipper Mashrafe Mortaza delivery at 16 1 in 4.5 overs.

Opener Hamilton Masakadza pairing with number three Vusi Sibanda tried to repair the early damage contributing 79 runs in 12.5 overs in the second wicket stand before H Masakadza was bowled by Jubair Hossain at 95 runs in 17.4 overs.

Jubair later took another wicket—Timycen Maruma (1) — to complete his two wickets mission for 41 runs in 8 overs.

H Masakadza scored team highest 52 runs facing 54 balls with five fours and three six.

Vusi Sibanda made 37 runs off 51 balls with three fours before being caught by Mashrafe Mortaza off a Shakib Al Hasan ball at 109 in 22.5 overs.

Debutant Tajul Islam on his way to four wickets haul took Solomon Mire (9), Tinashe Panyangara (0), John Nyumbu (3) and Tendai Chatara (0) for 11 runs in 7 overs.

Dependable world famed all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan grabbed three wickets—Brendan Taylor (9), Vusi Sibanda(37) and Tafadzwa Kamungozi (2)– for 30 runs also in 7 overs.