IBFB awards 14 successful entrepreneurs

The International Business Forum of Bangladesh (IBFB), a platform of the country’s top business leaders, intellectuals, university teachers, former government high officials, eminent journalists, working to move the economy ahead through promotion of small, medium and large-scale industries, both local and foreign, has accorded awards to 14 successful entrepreneurs of the country.

Picture of Successful Small Entrepreneurs Award-2014 of IBFBFor this, IBFB, through a long scrutiny with the help of district administrations, district business chambers has selected the successful entrepreneurs for awarding the “Successful Small Entrepreneurs Award 2014” at a ceremony held at the Pan Pacific Sonargaon Hotel in Dhaka on Sunday, 20 December 2015.

Finance Minister AMA Muhith, MP has handed over the awards to the successful entrepreneurs. SME Foundation Chairman KM Habib Ullah, U.S. Embassy’s Consul General Ms. Elizabeth Gourlay and PHP Group Chairman Mr. Sufi Mizanur Rahman also attended the programme as Special Guests.

IBFB President Hafizur Rahman Khan presided over the programme. Founder President of the IBFB Mahmudul Islam Chowdhury, Vice President Md. Omar Shafayat Jausar, Executive Director Md. Abdus Salam, among others, were present at the event.

IBFB undertook the initiative with the belief that there are a large number of entrepreneurs across the country, who through their innovations are relentlessly working to create huge employment and thus making tremendous contribution to make the country’s economy vibrant.

IBFB works to improve the business climate by addressing pressing issues such as high interest rates, tax evasion, transport inefficiencies and bureaucratic red tape as an advocacy and pressure group to articulate better business practices and policies to the general public and relevant government agencies.

The IBFB provides supports its members to promote and safeguard their trade interest through exchange of information.

It beliefs that the successful entrepreneurs, even at small levels, are making tremendous contributions to help flourish the economy and so their role is highly commendable for achieving high GDP (gross domestic product) growth.

These entrepreneurs have been able to stand as recognized businessmen in the society through their relentless efforts overcoming various obstacles.

The successful entrepreneurs who were awarded under seven categories include,

Architect Mir Al Amin, Managing Director, Noorjahan Agro-Processing Industries Private Limited from Bagerhat for processing of agriculture products,

GM Nurul Islam Rony, Proprietor of Messr Rony Agro Engineering from Satkhira for Agri Inputs and Agri Technology,

Md Abdul Hakim Mandal, Proprietor of Messr Abdul Hakim Mandal, Joypurhat for Agri Inputs and Agri Technology,

Md Faisar Rahman, Chairman, South Bengal Fertilizer Mills Limited, Jessore for Agri Input and Agri Technology,

Md Rezaul Hasan, Proprietor, Messr Rezaul Hasan, Naogaon for Agri Inputs and Agri Technology,

Ms Tanuja Rahman, Proprietor, Rong Handicrafts, Jessore for Handicrafts,

Ms Lipi Saha, Proprietor, Sananda Boutique House, Naogaon for Handicrafts,

Ms Parvin Akhter, Proprietor, Provati Boutique and Fashions House, Naogaon for Handicrafts,

Alhaj Md Fasiar Rahman, Proprietor, Messr Sabuj Matshya Khamar, Khulna for Fisheries and Livestock,

Md Mostafa Khan Feroz, Proprietor, Jannatnetri Ma Fatima Fish Hatchery, Jessore for Fisheries and Livestock,

Belal Ahmed Imran, Proprietor, Dream Agro, Sylhet for Fisheries and Livestock,

Md Ashraful Islam, Proprietor, Messr Ripon Metal Industries, Jessore for Light Engineering Industry,

Md Shahedul Islam, Proprietor, Marine Chemical Company, Rangpur for Light Chemical Industries

And Akbar Hossain Kismat, Proprietor, Bagan Bari Nursery, Sylhet for Nursery Development.

The features considered for selecting the successful entrepreneurs include local and Bangladeshi national, legal trade licenses and VAT certificates, five years income tax payment certificates, valid documents for Vat and other excise for last five years, business growth and annual turnover for the last five years, growth of employment scopes created during last five years, and company’s role in overall socio-economic development and social sorporate responsibility.

A total of 60 nominations from 23 districts were received. Through detailed scrutiny, the selection committee by holding six meetings selected the above mentioned entrepreneurs for the award.

The four-member selection committee constituted by the IBFB include Mohammad Ali Deen, Director, IBFB as Convener, and Prity Chakraborty, Md Atiur Rahman and Syed Mustafizur Rahman, Directors of the IBFB as members.