Pro-AL teachers sweep JU Senate Poll

The pro-Awami League teachers swept the teachers’ representative Senate of Jahangirnagar University (JU) on Sunday. A total of 25 out of 33 posts were bagged by ‘Bangabandhur Adarsha o Muktijuddhar Chatonai Biswasi Progotisil Shikkhok Somaj Panel’ while the pro-BNP and left-leaning teachers bagged 8 seats.

JU476 out of 497 voters were cast their votes which was held at the JU Teacher’s club from 9.30 am to 2.00 pm with enthusiastic manner.

From the pro- AL Panel, ‘ Prof. Ajit Kumar Majumder, Prof. Kowshik Saha, Prof. Tapan Kumar Saha, Prof. Farid Ahmed, Prof. Hanif Ali, Prof. Amjad Hossain, Prof Anwar Khasru Parvez, Prof Khabir Uddin, Prof Khalid Hossain, Prof. Layiak Sazzad Endellha, Prof.Sahidur Rashid, Prof. Rasheda Yesmin Shilpi, Prof. Sottojit Kumar Saha, Prof. Sayed Hafizur Rahman, Prof.Sukallan Kumar, Prof. Sufi Mustafizur Rahman, assistant Prof. Hosneara, Dr. Kabirul Bashar, associate Prof. Farid Ahmed, associate Prof. Bashir Ahmed, Associate Prof. Baktiar Rana, Associate Prof. Khalid Kuddus emerged as winners.

On other hand, Prof. A A Mamun, Prof. ATM Atiquir Rahman, Prof. Firoza Hossain, Prof. Sharif Uddin, Prof. Sohil Rana, Mahbub Kabir, associate Prof. Maliha Nargis Ahmed, Prof. Naim Sultan were elected from the Sommillito Shikkhok Somaj’ panel while the eight independent candidates didn’t get have any posts.

Mentionable, the last such election was held on April 29, 2010 and the senate expired on June 24, 2013.

Md. Asaduz Zaman, JU Correspondent