JUJA gets new body

President Rahat, GS Sujan

Belal Hossain Rahat of Daily Alokoto Bangladesh and Moudud Sujan of Daily Sun were elected president and the general secretary respectively of Jahangirnagar University Journalist Association (JUJA) for 2015-2016 sessions.

Professor Shahedur Rashid of Geography Department, who conducted the election as the Chief Election Commissioner, has officially declared the result around 2:30pm on Wednesday.

JUAssociate Professor Golam Rabbani of History Department and Jamal Uddin Runu of Environmental Sciences were present as the deputy election commissioners.

Other members of the committee are— vice-president Sanaullah Mahi, corrrespondent of the Daily Sangbad; joint-secretary Nur Mohammad Jabed corrrespondent of daily Jaijaidin; treasurer Saif Uddin Abir corrrespondent of the daily Manobkantha; and Razaul Karim Hira corrrespondent of the daily Vorer Dak, office and publishing secretary, Abdullah Al Mamun Niloy corrrespondent of Daily Ajker Potrika, Nur Alam Himel corrrespondent of the ManobZamin and Hasan Dabir Uddin corrrespondent of Deshprotidin24.com are elected as executive members.

The JUJA general election was held at JUJA office in Teachers-Students’ Centre (TSC) from 10 am till 1.00 pm on Wednesday.

Some 46 voters out of total 47 have applied their vote-right, Shahedur Rashid said.

JU Teachers’ Association, Dhaka University Journalists’ Association, Rajshahi University Journalists’ Association, Jagannath University Journalists’ Association, Savar Press Club congratulated the newly elected members, sources said.

JUJA is the first journalist union of the university that was established in 1972.

Asadduz Zaman, JU Correspondent